Call Us Today 760.545.5563
Itunes Subscribe to Richard Duquette’s Podcast
38 years of Proven Advocacy Get an Award-Winning Defender on Your Side Today

New 2012 California Motor Vehicle Laws: Be Informed

The California State Legislature approved a number of new motor vehicle laws which, unless otherwise noted, take effect January 1, 2012. These New Motor Vehicle Laws Pertain to:

Vehicle License Fees (VLF)

Registration Fees

Booster Seats – requires children under the age of 8 (unless at least 4 feet, 9 inches tall) to be properly restrained in a booster seat in a vehicle’s backseat.

Vehicle Purchases

Drunk Driving

Two measures signed into law alter DUI (driving under the influence) penalties in noteworthy ways. AB 353 prohibits law enforcement from impounding a vehicle at a sobriety checkpoint if the driver’s only offense is not having a valid driver license. Police must also make a reasonable attempt to identify the registered owner of the vehicle in order to release the vehicle to the registered owner or to a licensed driver authorized by the registered owner. AB 520 allows a person convicted of alcohol-related reckless driving (“wet reckless”) to apply for a restricted license early if he or she complies with specified requirements, including the installation of an ignition-interlock device.

Read the full article here.