Call Us Today 760.545.5563
Itunes Subscribe to Richard Duquette’s Podcast
Charged With a Drug Crime? Protect Your Future - Choose a Lawyer Known for Success

Marijuana Possession

Oceanside Marijuana Attorney

California State may have earned a reputation for being somewhat lenient when it comes to medical marijuana use and distribution but it still harshly penalizes anyone possessing marijuana without proper permit or medical necessity. Considered a Schedule I controlled substance through state legislation, possessing marijuana and its primary chemical compound, THC (tetrahydrocannabinol), is considered a drug crime that can carry heavy legal penalties.

Punishments related to a marijuana possession conviction may include:

  • $100 fine with jail time – less than 28.5 grams in question
  • $500 fine with six months in jail – more than 28.5 grams in question
  • $500 fine with one year in jail – any amount of concentrated cannabis in question

If you have been charged with marijuana possession, you cannot afford to gamble with your case. Most law enforcement agencies will not expect you to challenge your charges. When you enter the courtroom with an Oceanside drug crime attorney from the Law Firm of Richard L. Duquette, you will be giving yourself an immediate advantage over the prosecution.

Contact me today to learn what 34 years of legal experience can do for your case.

Drugged Driving Laws in California

The harsh penalties tied to possessing marijuana without explicit and approved medical purpose in California are minor in comparison to the legal trouble you can find yourself in if you are charged of driving while under the influence of marijuana. Any sort of drug that alters your state of mind in any way can constitute a DUID (driving under the influence of a drug) in California, but police officers generally apply the charges to those suspected of possessing marijuana.

A first-time conviction for driving under the influence of marijuana can include:

  • 6 months in jail
  • $1,000 fine
  • 6 month driver license suspension
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device

Subsequent convictions could have the following penalties:

  • 6 months to 1 year in jail
  • $1,000 fine
  • Two year driver's license suspension
  • Completion of DUI awareness program

To collect evidence against you in a DUID with marijuana case, the police will likely require you to submit to a chemical test, such as a blood or urine analysis. Do not be disheartened by the results. Just as it is with testing for alcohol intoxication, the devices used to test for the presence of marijuana in your system can be inaccurate. If calibrations are not made precisely and routinely, any number that the machine generates needs to be taken into question, and thrown out as evidence.

I Can Help You Stand Up for Your Rights

As previously mentioned, the opposition in your marijuana possession case is most likely assuming that you are going to roll over and accept your charges, fearing that the evidence against you is too great. Catch them off guard by using a professional Oceanside marijuana lawyer from my firm to construct your case and shield you from the heavy, unforgiving hand of the law. With a flawless "Superb" 10/10 rating from Avvo and an AV® Preeminent™ Rating by Martindale-Hubbell®, I have the history behind me that proves I am ready to take on your case at full force.

Call (760) 545-5563 today and begin with a free initial consultation.